EU, ASEAN empower next-generation high-performance computing leaders

EU, ASEAN empower next-generation high-performance computing leaders

ASEAN HPC Task Force

70 ASEAN students graduated from the EU-ASEAN HPC School 2022

BANGKOK, THAILAND, Dec. 10, 2022 / — 70 students from the ASEAN Member States today completed the EU-ASEAN High-Performance Computing (HPC) School 2022, empowering them as the next leaders in this emerging field .

The EU-ASEAN HPC School 2022, created from the cooperation between the European Union (EU) and the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), is a week-long intensive course on HPC and its applications to applied scientific research. Hosted by Kasetsart University this year, the HPC School invited renowned experts and dignitaries from the EU, ASEAN, Japan and beyond, including 2021 Turing Laureate prof. Jack Dongarra.

“This event shows how vibrant and impactful the partnership between the EU and ASEAN is. Learning from this rigorous yet exciting week will not only shape your career, but also improve the lives of the many people who will benefit from your expertise,” Igor Driesmans, EU Ambassador to ASEAN, told the students.

Endorsed by the ASEAN HPC Task Force, the school is funded by the EU and is organized through the Enhanced Regional EU-ASEAN Dialogue Instrument (E-READI). E-READI is a demand-driven program that supports ASEAN regional integration by strengthening EU-ASEAN networks and exchanging knowledge and experience in policy areas of mutual interest.

“ASEAN continues to valorize HPC’s practical application for greener supercomputing infrastructure, more advanced data-intensive research, cross-regional collaboration and equally importantly as an enabler for social and corporate governance (ESG). With the HPC global market expected to exceed USD 60 billion by 2025, HPC is also expected to drive research in decarbonisation, green technology and carbon neutrality,” said Satvinder Singh, ASEAN Deputy Secretary General for the ASEAN Economic Community .

The school offered courses on HPC design and programming, hands-on experience on world-class supercomputers such as Japan’s Fugaku, Europe’s LUMI and Meluxina, and Singapore’s National Supercomputing Center, as well as a visit to Thailand’s NSTDA Supercomputing Center. There were also in-depth sessions and talks on Life Science, Earth Science, Urgent Computing, and a public industry event related to HPC organized by Kasetsart University.

“HPC is increasingly being used to solve complex problems. It was amazing to see how all participants – students, speakers, luminaries and guests – connect and get personally involved, learning and discussing key facets of this field. It doesn’t matter where they come from or what they do. They speak the same language: the language of science,” said Fabrizio Gagliardi, HPC school director.

HPC collects and processes large amounts of data that can help solve regional and global problems. The increasing reliance on technology to solve global challenges highlights the importance of improving HPC skills and knowledge in the ASEAN region. In March 2021, the concept of an EU-ASEAN HPC School was determined to address this need.

For more information and updates on applications for the HPC School 2023, visit

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) was established on August 8, 1967. The member countries of the Association are Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam. On December 31, 2015, the ASEAN Community was formally established. The ASEAN Secretariat is based in Jakarta.

About the European Union (EU)
The European Union (EU) is the economic and political union of 27 member states with a population of 447 million. Together, the EU has built a zone of stability, democracy and sustainable development, while maintaining cultural diversity, tolerance and individual freedom. In 2012, the Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to the EU for promoting the goals of peace, reconciliation, democracy and human rights in Europe. The EU is the world’s largest trading bloc, and the world’s largest source and destination of foreign direct investment. Collectively, the EU and its member states are the largest donors of Official Development Assistance (ODA), providing more than half of ODA worldwide.

The 27 member states of the EU (in protocol order) are: Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Ireland, Greece, Spain, France, Croatia, Italy, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Hungary, Malta, Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia, Finland and Sweden.

For more information on the EU and its relations and cooperation with ASEAN, visit and follow on social media:

Contact details:
E-READI: [email protected]
Delegation of the European Union to ASEAN: [email protected]
ASEAN Secretariat: Science&[email protected]

Media Relations
Enhanced Regional EU-ASEAN Dialogue Instrument (E-READI)
[email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *